Guide to Services

OMB Circulars

Circulars Applicable to HJF Researchers

The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) has combined many federal circulars into a single guidance document (known as the Uniform Guidance or 2 CFR 200) that may be used by all federal agencies. These new regulations became effective December 26, 2014 for all guidance except for purchasing. The purchasing changes become effective on October 1, 2018. Funding agency policy should still be reviewed for their specific requirements.

The Uniform Guidance consolidates and makes consistent the administrative requirements, cost principles and audit requirements formerly included in eight separate circulars. For HJF, the Uniform Guidance replaces OMB Circulars A-110, A-122, and A-133.

Uniform Guidance Starts 10/1/2018

This is a reminder that the procurement regulations under Uniform Guidance will go into effect on 10/1/18.

OMB Uniform Guidance: 2 CFR Chapters I, II, Part 200  (PDF, HTML)

Navigating the Uniform Guidance

Information can be found more easily by understanding that the Uniform Guidance is broken down into Subparts. The preamble also provides a useful framework and discussion of how certain guidelines were ultimately determined.

Preamble – Major Policy Reforms
Subpart A – Acronyms and Definitions
Subpart B – General Provisions
Subpart C – Pre Award Requirements
Subpart D – Post Award Requirements
Subpart E – Cost Principles
Subpart F – Audit Requirements

Information on the Federal-wide Research Terms and Conditions (RTC) and waiver of prior approvals and other requirements.


Grants Training: COFAR

The Chief Financial Officers Council’s Grants 101 Training Modules are designed to provide a basic knowledge of grants and cooperative agreements. This training is not designed to provide detailed administrative, accounting and audit requirements that are specific to programs based on their statutory provisions, agency regulations and guidance. There are five modules: 1 – Laws, Regulations and Guidance; 2 – Financial Assistance Mechanisms; 3 – Uniform Guidance Administrative Requirements; 4 – Cost Principles, and; 5 – Risk Management and Single Audit.